What’s New, Pussycat?

April 11, 2010 at 10:14 am 3 comments

Don’t ask me what I chose today’s title.  I haven’t the foggiest.  Usually my title is somehow related to my post.  You can thank all my high school English teachers for drilling that habit into my head.  But today…well today…everything’s a bit off kilter and whacked-out, so my title may be as well.

To begin, I’ve had…oh, about 12 minutes of sleep.  My DD either has a bit of a stomach bug or ate something less than wholesome yesterday, and bless her heart she spend the better part of the night chucking.  I’m not sure which is worse…to be the person chucking or to be the person taking care of the person chucking.  Either way it makes for one really long night.

But I survived it without cigarettes.

Yes, it’s true.

I’ve quit.

Finally.

For good.

(Hopefully)

The thought that I might get lung cancer or have a stroke or heart attack was never scary enough to make me lay them down.  The thought that my beautiful children were inhaling second-hand smoke and developing all sorts of risk factors was not shameful enough to make me quit.  The fact that my hair reeked, my clothes reeked, my house reeked, my car reeked was not embarrassing enough to make me give it up.

What finally broke me was FPU.

Back in January the DH and I enrolled in Dave Ramsey’s Financial Peace University at a local church.  I’m not going to wax poetic about the experience, but I will tell you it’s been life changing.  I will tell you it’s absolutely the BEST $99 we’ve ever spent.

We have to create a WRITTEN budget every month.  One we agree on.  One we stick to. Each item we spend money on has a name.  Mortgage.  Electricity.  Food. Clothing.

Our cigarette fund earned the name “Stupid Addictions”.

Three months of seeing the dollars leaving our checkbook for Stupid Addictions accomplished what years of lung cancer warnings couldn’t.  I decided to quit.  My DH decided to quit.

Now don’t think this a “We Did It!” ta-da story.

It’s not.

It’s a “We’re Junkies and We’re Getting Clean One Minute At A Time” story.

My DH, being the manly-man he is, decided to go cold turkey.  I went the Chantix route.  And it’s working for me.  Today is day four of my new non-smoking life.

I’ve haven’t been seventy two hours without a smoke since I was fourteen!

But…if I can get though a night of a house full of pre-tween boys for my DS’s birthday sleep-over immediately followed by an night of DD’s chuckage, I can get through today.

And really…that’s what most of my life is anyway.  Getting through today.

I’ll be back later this week with some birthday stuff for your scrapbooks and cards.

Until then…remember that Debt is Normal.  Be WEIRD!!!

Happy Cricut-ing!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

To the Moon, Alice!!!

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. carolyn  |  April 13, 2010 at 7:31 pm

    Good Luck quiting. I know it’s hard. My mom couldn’t give up for anything. Gotta love Dave Ramsey! and I do!

    Reply
  • 2. Bernice Chapel  |  August 30, 2010 at 4:26 pm

    You are one funny lady!

    Reply
  • 3. Denver  |  April 5, 2011 at 10:51 am

    I love your blog. Your humor has put a smile on my face. I love the school bus post. Cant wait to read more!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


April 2010
S M T W T F S
« Sep    
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Recent Posts

Thanks for Visiting!!!

  • 92,171 hits

