To the Moon, Alice!!!

September 16, 2009 at 12:06 pm 4 comments

Believe it or not, I’m not feeling particularly chatty today.  I’ve been working on a rocket for a bulletin board I’m doing, and I’m going to give it to you without a lot of fanfare or conversation.  You could use the files to create a great scrapbook page element/embellishment or use it in your card making.  I’m thinking boy birthday or if you wanted to really get creative you could even do a romantic card for your sweetie…something along the lines of “You Rock(et) My World” or something equally cheesy. 

I found this awesome png file at http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Blue-rocket.svg.  (Ya’ll know I try to give credit where credit’s due!).  I was hoping I could import it into Inkscape and get the program to trace the layers, but there were just too many color variations, and I’m not the most saavy Inkscape user out there. 

So I opened it in Photoshop and did a lot of work on it.  The result turned out pretty cool.

Click on the image to download a zip file containing SVG files and a SCAL2 file and a PDF file with dimensions for SCAL1 users

Click on the image to download a zip file containing a SCAL2 SCUT file, SVG files, and a PDF file listing the dimensions for all pieces for SCAL1 users

There are a few things you need to know about these files:

1.)   This was created as a major element on a bulletin board, so the finished rocket is 8.00″W 10.47″ H.  Of course, you can resize all the pieces to suit your needs.

2.)  This is an ambitious paper piecing…seven layers. 

3.)  I usually try to create a SCAL1 SCUT file for those of you still using SCAL1, but I’m short on time today.  However, I didn’t forget you completely.  The zip file contains a PDF listing the exact dimensions of each piece so you can create this for yourself.  Note that these dimensions will create a supersized rocket…8×10.5″. 

4.)  The new layers function in SCAL2 made it very easy to put together a SCAL2 SCUT file, so that’s included in the zip file.  If you don’t know how to cut layers individually, go to my tutorials page and follow the link to Dan’s video tutorials over at My Crafty Life.  It’s worth your time.  Really.

Hope you can find use for this, and, as always, happy Cricut-ing!!!

Entry filed under: Card Making, Cricut, Expression, Paper Piecing, Rocket, SCAL, SCAL 1, SCAL 2, SCAL1, SCAL2, Scrapbook Page Elements, Scrapbooking, scut file, scut freebie, svg file, svg freebie, Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Payback’s a Witch What’s New, Pussycat?

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. REIT  |  October 6, 2009 at 2:38 pm

    Hey very nice blog!!….I’m an instant fan, I have bookmarked you and I’ll be checking back on a regular….See ya 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. Marieke  |  October 16, 2009 at 2:43 pm

    I forget how I got to your blog – I think it was a search for SCAL, but I just wanted to say I have really enjoyed reading your postings. I loved the note to your son on the first day of school. Too funny. I love how real you keep it. Thanks for the entertainment.

    Reply
  • 3. Georgia  |  August 16, 2010 at 11:35 pm

    I’m new to a lot of this and I wonder if you would answer a question for me. I download your school bus scut file but I can’t open it, It asks for a program.

    Reply
    • 4. Lea  |  September 2, 2010 at 9:21 am

      As far as I know, the only program to handle scut files is Sure Cuts A Lot. If you have that program, open it, then click on File, then click on Open, then select the scut file. Hope I’ve answered your question.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


September 2009
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Apr »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Recent Posts

Thanks for Visiting!!!

  • 92,223 hits

