Back to School Bus

August 28, 2009 at 1:19 pm 12 comments

I know I’ve been celebrating summer, but yesterday evening reality set in.  The school year has returned and brought with it that nightly demon…homework.

Ya’ll…I hate homework as much as my kid does.  Because his homework agony is my homework agony.  I envy parents whose children sail through their school work with scarely a groan.  The parents who can always read their children’s homework because it’s legible! The parents who don’t have to sequester their children in convent-like silence because their children actually possess powers of concentration!

And I commiserate with those parents who would rather rip out their own molars with rusty pliers than face an afternoon of textbooks and homework assignments.

To add insult to injury, once again this year I was not allowed to take a picture of my DS on his first day of school in his classroom.   Not because of any silly school rule, but because my eight-going-on-eighteen year old is simply too cool to have his mom taking pictures in front of his friends.  After four years of it’s-the-first-day-of-school-but-I-can’t-take-a-picture-for-the-scrapbook-that-rotten-kid-of-mine-will-one-day-treasure, you’d think I’d be so over it.

But I’m not.

It irritates me that every year I am forced to complete a back-to-school layout that hasn’t a single photograph on it.

The first year, the year he entered kindergarten, I made light of it and designed a layout reminiscent of a yearbook page with the blank spaces which read “Photograph Not Available”.

The second year — first grade — I used stickers and journaled my heart out about his classroom and his teacher and my impressions of his first day and my hopes for the year.

The third year I used TONS of stickers, but the most I could muster up was eight lines of journaling.  It’s a good thing I’m good with color and space and that I understand the beauty of “white space” in an artful composition.

This year I’m seriously considering taping a single piece of notebook paper in the scrapbook and writing what I really think.

Of course, I would never, ever do that.  Not really.  But I can, and often do, entertain all sorts of awful thoughts in my head.  And sometimes, on occasion, I share them here.  Lucky you!!!

For those of you who have those oh-so-sweet first-day-of-school photos and are looking for something to include in your layout, I’ve got something here for you.  (And no, I don’t mean my middle finger!)

And for those of you, who like me, have rotten children who are ungrateful for the many daily sacrifices you make as a sainted parent, you can use it to fill up the immense blank space on your layout created by a lack of photographs.

Back to School Bus

Back to School Bus

I’m providing *.svg files for the following:

Black Bus Background

Yellow Bus Foreground

Hubcaps

White Background for Stop Sign

Red Stop Sign & Blinker

I’m also including a *.scut file with all the pieces on a single 12×12 cutting mat, and all the pieces sized correctly to be pieced together to create a 5″ bus.  You can grab it here.

Please note that I did not include any wording on the side of the bus.  That’s to allow you room to customize your bus with whatever you’d like it to say.  Once you’ve imported the *.svg file (or opened the *.scut file) in SCAL, you can simply position your cursor right on the bus (make sure you do this on what will be the yellow part) and type in whatever you’d like it to read.

I’ll personally refrain from making any disparaging remarks on the bus that I’ll cut for my scrapbook.  But you know I can’t go to jail for what I’m thinking 🙂

Best of luck with the homework, and happy Cricut-ing.

Entry filed under: Back to School, Card Making, Cricut, Expression, Paper Piecing, School Bus, Scrapbook Page Elements, Scrapbooking, scut file, scut freebie, svg file, svg freebie.

In Memory and Prayer Sun Sun Sun Here It Comes

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Patty  |  September 6, 2009 at 11:23 pm

    I love this file and I love to read your stories. You have me laugh tonight while thinking back on the days my kids were in school. YUCK! Keep up the good work. And thank you for the file!
    Patty

    Reply
    • 2. Lea  |  September 8, 2009 at 12:54 pm

      Thank you so much! It’s great to know that somebody finds me entertaining…my kids sure don’t! I’m thrilled you like the school bus.

      Reply
  • 3. Pam  |  September 30, 2009 at 1:13 pm

    I love the Letter! I wish I knew back when my kids were in school that I knew other Mom’s felt like I did sometimes!
    Thanks for a great laugh!

    Reply
  • 4. Jearise  |  January 9, 2010 at 3:31 am

    I got the biggest kick out of your letter when I stumbled onto it today. I have a 10 year old that fits that letter perfectly.
    The school but is adorable.

    Reply
  • 5. Cathy D.  |  March 6, 2010 at 12:19 pm

    I am not sure if I am doing something wrong but when I try to download your .svg files for school bus they are all named the same – appear to be the back of a stop sign… I did download the scut file but if I understand all this the scut files cannot be changed in size – need to make a birthday invite for granddaughter.

    Any help would be greatly appreciated.

    wvcathy

    Reply
    • 6. Lea  |  March 11, 2010 at 2:17 pm

      Cathy,

      The scut files CAN be resized. You just need to open the file in SCAL, click on the images, and resize them either with the handles that will appear on the bounding box around the image or by entering the adjusted size in the dialog box.

      Reply
  • 7. Cathy Dickman  |  March 11, 2010 at 2:43 pm

    Thanks, Lea – I probably didn’t explain very well since I don’t understand all this very well — I was trying to remove that box that is around the overlay of the bus – the piece that has the bus windows cut out of it – since the box cut out as well as the overlay – it was just wasting paper – but LOVE the design made some really cute birthday invites….

    Regards,
    cathy

    Reply
  • 8. Susie  |  March 31, 2010 at 4:50 pm

    I love your school bus, but when I click on the individual pieces they are all the back of stop sign. I tried to download the SCUT but it will not open for me in Make the Cut. Do I need to have SCAL to open this file? I have Cricut Design Studio, too. Will it work in this program? Please Help! Thanks!

    Reply
    • 9. Lea  |  April 11, 2010 at 9:17 am

      Sorry about the difficulty some of you have been having with the links for the svg files. I always check my links before posting, and way back in August everything worked fine. Don’t know what happened with 4shared, but I’ve fixed all the links now. As for your questions about the scut file…yes, you must have SCAL to open a scut file. I’ve never used CDS, but I seriously doubt you can import svg files into it (ProvoCraft produces both the Cricut cartridges and CDS, so to make a software program that reduces a need for the cartridges wouldn’t fit into their business model). However, I did check out the Make the Cut website, and according to their literature, you can import svg files into the program for cutting. I wish I could be of more assistance, but since I’m a SCAL die-hard so far, I’m not of much use in this area. Best of luck to you!!!

      Reply
  • 10. Stephanie  |  June 3, 2010 at 11:41 am

    Thanks so much for this terrific bus. I just made a thank you card for the bus driver. Love your fun stories!

    Reply
    • 11. Lea  |  September 2, 2010 at 9:36 am

      Dear Stephanie, thank you thank you thank you. I’m so glad that you were able to use something I created to brighten someone else’s day. That makes the hours of going blind at this screen so worth it.

      Reply
  • 12. Jenn  |  March 4, 2011 at 10:35 pm

    Thanks so much for this file. I made a retirement banner for one of our long time bus mechanics using it and wrote retirement down the side where the school district would be. such an easy file to work with and so appreciated. I’m sure it will be a hit!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


August 2009
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Sep »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Recent Posts

Thanks for Visiting!!!

  • 92,496 hits

