Bless This Home – SCAL SCUT File for Home Decor

February 9, 2009 at 11:05 pm 12 comments

It’s no wonder I’m obsessed with my Cricut!  The darn thing does everything but the dishes!!!

Not only have I done some really cool cards for my very special Valentines, but this weekend, despite having a fever of over 101 degrees, I finally finished the vinyl lettering to go over my back door in the kitchen. 

Bless This Home

Fever? What fever?

When I say finally, you have to understand that I’ve had the scut files completed for some time, but what I didn’t have, and what I really needed, was a 12×24 mat.  And, being the total cheapskate that I sometimes am, I was waiting until I could find them on sale (thank you, Joann.com!).

They arrived early last week, but due to other committments, I couldn’t get around to actually cutting the vinyl.  Then Wednesday night, the virus set in.  No stomach upset (yay!!!) but basically I wallowed around in my fleeciest jammies and a sweater and TWO pairs of very thick socks.  I never wear socks!  I’m the original barefoot contessa!  When I put on socks, you know I’m sick. 

But by Friday I couldn’t stand it a moment longer, and I dragged myself from my deathbed to finish this project.

You have to excuse the fact that the jpeg I included in this post is an extremely-close-to-actual-scale mock up of the beautiful lettering now gracing my back door.  My Canon has still not been repaired, and as of the writing of this post, the techs at Canon have still not ascertained the exact problem with my camera.  Therefore, my technical abilities are somewhat limited at this time. 

Crap.  Crap squared.  Crap cubed.  Crap to the nth degree.

I’ve never been a “the one who dies with the most toys wins” type of person.  But there are a few things I’ve discovered that, while I can live without them, I really really really really don’t want to.  The first one of those things is my computer.  The second is my camera.  The third is my Cricut.

I sort of feel like Steve Martin in The Jerk, wandering around the house saying, “I don’t need anything except this computer and that’s it and that’s the only thing I need, is this computer. I don’t need this or this. Just this computer. And this camera — the computer and the camera and that’s all I need. And this Cricut. The computer, the camera and the Cricut, and that’s all I need. And this vinyl.  The computer, and this vinyl, and the Cricut and the camera. And this paper. The computer, this camera and the Cricut and this paper and that’s all I need. And that’s all I need too. I don’t need one other thing, not one – I need this! The camera, and the glitter markers, and the Cricut, and the vinyl, for sure. Well what are you looking at? What do you think I am, some kind of a jerk or something? And this! And that’s all I need. The computer, the Cricut, the camera, these rhinestone stickers and the glitter markers.”

Anyway, now that I’ve bored you terribly with a really really lousy impersonation of a very funny man in a very funny movie that I haven’t watched in a very long time, I’ll spare you the minute details of how to do the project.  If you’d like the minute details, leave a comment asking for them, and I’ll email you the instructions.

I will tell you that you can download the scut files for the heart scroll here and the wording here

PLEASE NOTE:  The font I used for this project is Inspiration.  Designed by the very talented Rob Leuschke, this is NOT a free font.  I looked high and low in search of something that approximated the style of this font, with no success.  This is truly an original.  What does this mean for you?  It means that if you do not have Inspiration installed on your computer, this scut file will not work for you.  You can purchase the font at http://new.myfonts.com/fonts/typesetit/inspiration/, and, if you do, you’ll be amazed at the number of uses you’ll find for it. 

It’s a as always, Happy Cricuting!!!

Entry filed under: Expression, Home Decor, scut file, scut freebie. Tags: , , , , , , , .

SCAL Files for Valentines Day Card Mourning My Canon

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Nicole  |  February 19, 2009 at 9:30 am

    This is so cute. I’ll have to work up the nerve to try it. Thanks for sharing!

    Reply
    • 2. ScrapPhreak  |  February 19, 2009 at 1:13 pm

      You should definitely try it!!! It’s easy to do! I mean, I’m no rocket scientist, and I managed it. The transfer tape is a huge help. I’ve read about people who do it without the tape, but I’d be terrified I get the placement all whacked.

      Reply
  • 3. jen  |  March 26, 2009 at 5:10 pm

    hello I tried to download your awesome wording and scroll but it wouldn’t work for me, would you please email the file to me? thanks so much, I have been looking for something exactly like this,
    Jen

    Reply
  • 4. Carla Unruh  |  April 9, 2009 at 12:15 am

    Beautiful! Thanks for sharing

    Reply
  • 5. CreativeBusyHand  |  May 18, 2009 at 10:53 pm

    Thank you so much for this Freebie. I want to let you know that I posted a link to your blog in Creative Busy Hands Cricut Freebies Search List, under the Alpha(s),Word Art(s), Word Book(s) post on May. 18, 2009. Thanks again.

    Reply
  • 6. SHannpn  |  August 8, 2009 at 11:45 pm

    I widh I new how to down load from your site I see so many things I like

    Reply
    • 7. lealindsay  |  August 25, 2009 at 9:43 am

      To download any of the files from my site, just click on the green words. A new window should pop open, taking you to my favorite free file sharing site (4shared.com). Then all you have to do is click on the button that says download file.

      Reply
  • 8. Kim  |  January 9, 2010 at 4:22 am

    this is gorgeous! I just found it linked up on some DIY blog. Thanks!

    Reply
  • 9. Robin  |  April 11, 2010 at 12:23 am

    I downloaded your file, but did not see the beautiful flourish in the background. Where did you find it? or could you send it to me, your work is just beautiful.

    Reply
    • 10. Lea  |  April 11, 2010 at 8:46 am

      Robin,
      I tested the link and it worked fine when I tried it, but I’m sorry you had difficulty. I’ve emailed it to you.

      Reply
  • 11. Jill Lyon  |  June 30, 2010 at 9:06 am

    LOVE your analogies! Sound like my type of brain. Add DVR to that list and you’ve got me! I have a problem with my file formats, maybe you can shed some light as to where I should go to fix it? Any help appreciated! I have just gotten into glass etching, thank you Cricut, and ambigrams. Those are the words like in the DaVinchi Code where they read the same way upside-down with one or two words. So I worked on this ambigram, which really only good artists can do, so it took me 2 days to sorta fake it, but I finally got it! I used my Digital Image 10 program, which has never heard of a .svg file, let alone a .scut. Long story longer, downloaded that program they tell you to use for converting, no success. It says they can’t save text, but I saved it as a jpeg, cause it’s actually a picture now. What am I doing wrong? Can I save it some other way? My next step is to print it out, scan it, and add it to my pic files. I have a funny feeling that won’t work, only because it has to be finished today for a wedding, and that’s how things go for me! I Guess what I’m saying to you and all who read your site, is “HELP!!!”. Thanks in advance for any tips, as I’ve gone through this before, and see it happening in the future. I hope I didn’t crash your site with the length of my woes! (My crap meter is up to the 10th degree, heading qickly to the 11th now) Today is June 30, 2010, so hope you’re still there!
    Happy cutting,
    Jill
    PS: Can’t wait to get my 24 incher to do my scrolly designs for my ceiling. Yay! No more stenciling upside down!

    Reply
    • 12. Lea  |  September 2, 2010 at 9:27 am

      Jill, if I sound like your type of brain, you should be scared…very very scared. Unfortunately, I’ve been away for a bit (okay, more than a bit…that’s how my life operates) so any reply I post will come too late to help you. I’m sorry. But even if I’d been here to respond, I wouldn’t be of much help. I know nothing of Digital Image 10. However, for future reference, you can bring any jpg image into Inkscape and use it to create an svg file. You can then import the svg file into Sure Cuts A Lot and do whatever tweaking (i.e. resizing) you want and cut it. If you’ve gone as far as you have in this process, you’re as on top of things as I am, and I’m sure you figured out a way to handle it. I’d love to see your scrolly ceiling designs. I can’t even imagine trying to stencil a ceiling. I don’t even like to paint them with rollers and plain ceiling paint! Best of luck to you and happy cutting!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


February 2009
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Aug »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

Recent Posts

Thanks for Visiting!!!

  • 92,496 hits

