I’m in LOOOOOVE!!!!

September 2, 2009 at 11:15 am Leave a comment

In case you haven’t heard, SCAL 2 is available.

There’s been grumbling.  There’s been griping.  And trust me, I understand the frustration ya’ll are feeling.  Times are tough, money’s tight, so who really wants to fork over some more of what we don’t have enough of? 

I’ve been holding off on the upgrade myself, but I only have so much self-restraint.  So I finally broke down yesterday and forked over 35 bucks to upgrade my SCAL.

Before this morning, I thought the cash I paid for version 1 was the best money I’d ever spent.  Let me just say….I WAS WRONG!!!  Buying the upgrade is the best money I’ve spent I’ve spent in a LONG LONG LONG time. 

The new features are AWESOME!!!  It’s so much easier to manipulate type now.  And the new layer function and the trace image function!!!!  I’m practically orgasmic!!!

This morning I sat down to create a title for a halloween page. The layer function allowed me to create all the pieces and lay them one on top of the other so I could really see how they fit together. Happy Dance Happy Dance Happy Dance!

Happy Haunting

Here are some things you’ll need to know before trying to reproduce this page title. 

(1)  The font I used is Zombie.  So if you don’t have it, you can download it here from dafont.com. 

(2)  I’ve set up this scut file to cut all the layers at once.  That’s just my personal preference.  I’d rather put all my paper pieces on my cutting mat and load it once.  You may prefer to cut the layers one at the time.  If you’re new to SCAL2 and don’t know how to use layers, I suggest checking out my Tutorials page.  There’s a link there to a fabulous tutorial by Dan over at My Crafty Life.  Watching it may just be the best five minutes and seventeen seconds you’ve spent recently. 

(3)  I used the new auto trace feature in SCAL2 to trace the bat jpg.  (That was the coolest!!!)  The jpg included two little yellow eyes on each bat.  Of course, those eyes are too small for the Cricut to cut, but if you look carefully at them once they’ve come out of the Cricut, you’ll see where the eyes should go.  I used a big safety pin to poke holes in those spots so the yellow of my moon would show through.  I also wiggled the safety pin a little bit to enlarge the eye holes even more.

(4)  You can dowload the scut file for SCAL2 here.  Sized as is, it will produce a title that’s about 4 1/2″ W x 3 1/4″ H.  Of course, you can always resize the elements to suit your individual needs.

(5)  If you’re still using SCAL version 1, this project sucks for you, because this scut file can’t be opened using SCAL1.  However, don’t fret too much.  I’ve got to go make beds and put on some dinner and do a few of the other household chores that are screaming for my attention, but I plan on posting a version of this that can be used with your SCAL1 either later tonight or tomorrow. 

In the meantime, have a hauntingly happy time with SCAL2!!!

P.S.  For those of you still using SCAL1, here’s a scut file for you as well.  The dimensions aren’t exactly the same, but they’re close.  Also due to the limitations of SCAL1, I couldn’t weld both the “Happy” and the “aunting” pieces together and still make sure that the shadow fit.  I could bore you with the details of why the Zombie font was difficut to shadow, and all the steps I had to take to create the shadow, but I won’t.  Let’s just say it wasn’t as easy as changing the style to Blackout Shadow.  This was due to problems with the font itself, not any functionality of SCAL1 or SCAL2. I don’t have time to try the scut file out for myself right now, but I’ll try to do that later tonight or tomorrow.  When I do, I’ll post a picture for you.

Entry filed under: Bats, Card Making, Cricut, Expression, Halloween, Moon, Page Title, Paper Piecing, SCAL 2, SCAL2, Scrapbook Page Elements, Scrapbooking, scut file, scut freebie, Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , .

Could It Get Any Easier? SCAL1 vs SCAL2

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


September 2009
S M T W T F S
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Thanks for Visiting!!!

  • 95,193 hits